Sapphires named to defend World Cup gold

The 12 players tasked with attempting to defend Australia’s 2016 Under 17 FIBA World Championship title have been decided, with the Sapphires squad for the 2018 Under 17 FIBA World Cup for women to be held in Minsk, Belarus in July named today. Nine members of the squad – Georgia Amoore, Agnes Emma-Nnopu, Alexandra Fowler, Ashlee Hannan, Shyla Heal, Eliza Hollingsworth, Jade Melbourne, Isabel Palmer, and Gemma Potter – featured in the Australian Under 16 team that secured the FIBA Asia Under 16 Championship in 2017 after sneaking by Japan 61-60 in the championship game. Those players have been joined by three new additions to the squad; Victorian pair Isobel Anstey and Lily Scanlon, as well as Ruby Porter who is the sole South Australian in the team after impressing during the selection process.

Read →

Comments on this post are for paying subscribers