Wigness, Potter head teams for FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championships

Basketball Australia has confirmed selections for the upcoming FIBA Under-17 Oceania Championships, following a selection camp at the Centre of Excellence (CoE).

The U17 Oceania Championships will be held in New Caledonia from 19 to 24 August.

Teams will be aiming to finish in the top two of the Under-17 Oceania Championships, which will see them advance to next year’s Under-18 Asian Championships. From there on, the teams will earn qualification for the Under-19 World Cups in 2021.

Led by head coach Phil Brown, the women’s team features Gemma Potter and Jade Melbourne, who bring their experience from last year’s bronze medal win at the Under-17 World Cup.


Katie Deeble, Charlise Dunn, Shaneice Swain, Paige Price and Millie Prior have also worn the green and gold previously at the 2018 Under-15 Oceania Championships where Dunn and Price were named to the All-Star Five.

The men, led by head coach Mark Radford, have significant experience at the international level.

Tamuri Wigness has competed at the 2018 Under-17 World Cup, won gold at the 2018 Under-18 Asian Championships and is soon to represent the Emus at the 2019 Under-19 World Cup.


Blake Jones was a part of last year’s Under-17 World Cup as well while Wigness and Paul Tsapatolis participated at the 2017 Under-16 Asian Championships.

Tsapatolis was one of a trio of Victorians that claimed gold at the Australian Under-18 Championships earlier this year along with Leyi Adebayo and Josh Giddey.

Gemma Potter, Taran Armstrong and Tamuri Wigness were participants at the recent Basketball Without Borders Global camp, with Potter and Wigness winning the 3-point challenge.


Stay tuned for an announcement from FIBA with the tournament schedule.

2019 Australia U17 team rosters

Men's team

Ryan Abbott (NSW)

Leyi Adebayo (VIC)

Taran Armstrong (TAS)

Biwali Bayles (NSW)

Joshua Giddey (VIC)

Blake Jones (QLD)

Lucas Schmidt (QLD)

Reyne Smith (TAS)

Paul Tsapatolis (VIC)

Tamuri Wigness (QLD)

Women's team

Kate Deeble (QLD)

Charlise Dunn (VIC)

Jade Melbourne (VIC)

Neferatali Notoa (QLD)

Olivia Pollerd (VIC)

Gemma Potter (VIC)

Paige Price (VIC)

Millie Prior (NSW)

Kelsey Rees (SA)

Shaneice Swain (Q0LD)