NBLxNBA 2019 games available via SBS On Demand and NBL TV

NBL preseason is reaching new heights, after Thursday night's thrilling season opener resulted in newcomer South East Melbourne Phoenix taking a win over Melbourne United, with Mitch Creek rising to the challenge magnificently.

The next wave of excitement is coming up this weekend, with the 2019 edition of the NBLxNBA preseason games coming up in the United States. The broadcast schedule however, has yet to be announced.

Initial comments on Twitter discussed the possibility of the games being on Fox 507. The Pick and Roll has confirmed with Fox Sports Australia that the games will not be broadcast on Fox.

When reached for comment, ESPN --who broadcast last year's NBLxNBA games-- shared the following statement: "ESPN are not involved with the NBAxNBL series this year and do not have rights to the games."

The Pick and Roll contacted the NBL for comment, and was advised that an announcement will be made "shortly".

Update: The NBL announced on Saturday evening that all five games between NBA and NBL teams in the NBA preseason will be streamed live and free on NBL TV and SBS On Demand. NBL TV is available with a first month trial, registration available via the NBL website. A $5 fee will apply post-trial.

It's understood that the broadcast rights are no longer available as of earlier this week, and we've since confirmed that SBS, which has made a major push towards basketball coverage this year --including NBA games-- will be broadcasting via SBS on Demand.

Subscribers of NBA League Pass will have full access to these games as well.

The NBL tour tips off with the Adelaide 36ers, headed by newly-returned star guard Jerome Randle, against the Utah Jazz, featuring Boomers Joe Ingles and Dante Exum.

The first NBLxNBA game stream, featuring 36ers-Jazz on SBS on Demand can be found here.

Next Star RJ Hampton's New Zealand Breakers play the Memphis Grizzlies next, followed by the Oklahoma City Thunder. The SBS on Demand live stream for Breakers-Memphis can be found here, and the Breakers-Thunder stream can be found here.

The series ends with two Melbourne United appearances, with the first game against the Los Angeles Clippers, and a final match up with the Sacramento Kings.

NBLxNBA preseason game schedule

  • 5 Oct Adelaide 36ers vs Utah Jazz 7pm MDT (6 Oct 12pm AEDT)

  • 8 Oct SKY Sport New Zealand Breakers vs Memphis Grizzlies 7pm CT (9 Oct 11am AEDT)

  • 10 Oct SKY Sport New Zealand Breakers vs Oklahoma City Thunder 7pm CT (11 Oct 11am AEDT)

  • 13 Oct Melbourne United vs Los Angeles Clippers 1230pm PT (14 Oct 630am AEDT)

  • 16 Oct Melbourne United vs Sacramento Kings 7pm PT (17 Oct 1pm AEDT)