Tasmanians lead NBL1 All-Stars in upcoming NBL Blitz

Tasmanian representation is everywhere in the coming NBL Blitz, and the NBL1 All-Stars Team is no exception.

Tasmanians Lachlan Barker, a development player with the Sydney Kings last season, and North West Thunder's Reyne Smith will suit up in the NBL1 All-Stars. Hobart Huskies import Zachary White has also been named.

The NBL1 All-Stars will be coached by Mark Chivers, who coached the Hobart Huskies, with assistants being North West Thunder coach Sam Armstrong and Frankston Blues coach Andrew Harms.

The team includes former NBL players Barker, Adam Doyle and Igor Hadziomerovic, and star NBL1 imports Dain Swetalla, Damon Bozeman, Demarcus Gatlin, Deonte Burton and Najeal Young.

The NBL1 All-Stars will play two games at the NBL Blitz, facing the Brisbane Bullets on Thursday September 19 at Ulverstone Stadium and Cairns Taipans on Saturday September 21 at the Silverdome in Launceston.

NBL1 All-Stars Team Head Coach Mark Chivers said: “The NBL1 All-Stars Team for the NBL Blitz gives Tasmanians a great opportunity to see NBL stars up close and enjoy world class basketball.

“Tasmanians will also have a chance to see some of their best local young players and I’m sure all the players selected for the NBL1 All-Stars will be keen to showcase their talents against the Brisbane Bullets and Cairns Taipans. ”

NBL1 All-Stars Team

  • Reyne Smith – North West Thunder

  • Zachary White – Hobart Huskies

  • Lachlan Barker – Frankston Blues

  • Adam Doyle – Eltham Wildcats

  • Dain Swetalla – Nunawading Spectres

  • Damon Bozeman – Frankston Blues

  • Demarcus Gatlin – Geelong Supercats

  • Deonte Burton – Bendigo Braves

  • Igor Hadziomerovic – Frankston Blues

  • Isaac Turner – Kilsyth Cobras

  • Lewis Thomas – Geelong Supercats

  • Najeal Young – Frankston Blues