Multiple Aussies named All-Stars, clinch awards in Basketball Without Borders Asia 2019

Basketball Without Borders Asia 2019 in Tokyo wrapped with multiple Australians impressing. Campers competed in playoffs and championship games, along with a 3-point contest and All-Star games, and Australia represented with selections to the All-Star team on both the boys and girls sides. Georgia Woolley stole the limelight with an MVP award.

The camp began with playoffs games to determine the championship games matchup. On the girls side, the New York Liberty and the Los Angeles Sparks faced off in the championship game, with the Liberty (coached by former WNBA player Ashley Battle) coming away with a 33 – 18 win.

The boys championship game followed, with the Orlando Magic, coached on the sidelines by current NBA assistant coach Pat Delany, winning the Minnesota Timberwolves, 22 – 16.

Finally, the All-Star teams were announced. The West All-Stars pulled out a win for the girls (29 – 23), while the East All-Stars emerged victorious on the boys side with a 42 – 37 win.

Georgia Woolley and Ruby-Belle Macdonald were selected to the East Girls All-Star team, while Isabelle Morgan and Emily Sewell were on the West Girls All-Star roster. Meanwhile Daniel Rogers made the East Boys All-Star team, and Patrick Ryan, Lewis Rowe were on the West Boys All-Star team.

The 11th BWB Asia camp concluded with the awards ceremony, where Junseok Yeo (South Korea) was named Boys MVP, with Woolley being named MVP on the girls side. Other Australian award winners included Lewis Rowe and Isabele Morgan, who both were presented with the Patrick Baumann Sportsmanship awards. The award is named in honour of the late Patrick Baumann, past Secretary General of FIBA and Internatonal Olympic Committee (IOC) member.

Girls All-Star Team

East – Siya Deodhar (India), Aika Hirashita (Japan), Jayzelee Waihi (New Zealand), Georgia Woolley (Australia), Ruby-Belle Macdonald (Australia), Jiyeong Moon (South Korea), Jazzmyne Kailahi-Fulu (New Zealand)

West – Florence Jil Talas (Philippines), Maho Hayashi (Japan), Emilia Shearer (New Zealand), Harsimran Kaur (India), Miyu Ogita (Japan), Isabelle Morgan (Australia), Emily Sewell (Australia)

Boys All-Star Team

East – Mustafa Rashed (Bahrain), Atsuya Ogawa (Japan), Harold Alarcon (Philippines), Clifton Bush III (New Zealand), Alexander Frederick Zanbaka (Lebanon), Kyutae Lee (South Korea), Daniel Rogers (Australia), Amaan Sandhu (India)

West – Hendrick Xavi Yonga (Indonesia), Kaine Roberts (Japan), Enkhiin-Od "Michael" Sharavjamts (Mongolia), Joshua Rafael Lazaro (Philippines), Patrick Ryan (Australia), Haomiao Sun (China), Jun Seok Yeo (South Korea), Lewis Rowe (Australia)

List of Awards

  • Boys Grit Award: Kaine Roberts (Japan)

  • Girls Grit Award: Emilia Shearer (New Zealand)

  • Boys 3-Point Champion: Mustafa Rashed (Bahrain)

  • Girls 3-Point Champion: Miyu Ogita (Japan)

  • Boys All-Star Game MVP: Harold Alarcon (Philippines)

  • Girls All-Star Game MVP: Maho Hayashi (Japan)

  • Boys Camp MVP: Junseok Yeo (South Korea)

  • Girls Camp MVP: Georgia Woolley (Australia)