FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers: Goulding, Creek headline 24-man Boomers squad announcement

Basketball Australia has confirmed the first roster of players for the upcoming FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers in February, which will be played in Brisbane.

The roster will include experienced Boomers Chris Goulding, Mitch Creek, David Barlow, Cameron Gliddon and Nathan Sobey, who recently participated in the FIBA World Cup tournament last year in China. Dane Pineau, Mitch McCarron and Will Magnay are also some names that have been making a splash in the NBL, and will put on the Boomers green and gold this year.

A host of talented young players are in the player list. This includes the likes of Kouat Noi, Harry Froling, Emmett Naar, Daniel Grida, Sunday Dech and Sam Froling, who are currently playing in the NBL.

Younger high-profile prospects like Josh Giddey --who was recently named MVP in the 2020 Torneo Junior Ciutat de L’Hospitalet held in Barcelona, Spain-- and Tamuri Wigness have also made an appearance on the roster.

Sydney Kings head coach,Will Weaver will take over as head coach in Brett Brown's absence --who will still be committed to the NBA season-- with Adam Caporn and CJ Bruton as assistants.

“We're fortunate to have so many talented players eager to step up whenever they have the chance to represent Australia,” Weaver shared in the release.

“It’s always a tremendous honour to be part of the Boomers program and we are excited for this group to start the journey of qualifying for the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup on home soil against New Zealand in Brisbane."

The final team roster will be announced ahead of the first game, which will be on 20 February at Nissan Arena in Brisbane, QLD at 6:30pm AEST. Tickets will be available via

Australian Boomers 24-man squad

Anthony DrmicAdelaide 36ersHarry FrolingAdelaide 36ersNathan SobeyBrisbane BulletsCameron GliddonBrisbane BulletsMatthew HodgsonBrisbane BulletsJason CadeeBrisbane BulletsWill MagnayBrisbane BulletsTamuri WignessCentre of ExcellenceKouat NoiCairns TaipansMirko DjericCairns TaipansJosh GiddeyNBA Global AcademyTodd BlanchfieldIllawarra HawksDaniel GridaIllawarra HawksEmmett NaarIllawarra HawksSunday DechIllawarra HawksSam FrolingIllawarra HawksAngus GloverIllawarra HawksChris GouldingMelbourne UnitedDavid BarlowMelbourne UnitedMitch McCarronMelbourne UnitedMitch CreekSouth East Melbourne PhoenixDane PineauSouth East Melbourne PhoenixKyle AdnamSouth East Melbourne PhoenixAdam GibsonSouth East Melbourne Phoenix