Extended Boomers squad named for World Cup Qualifiers

Up-and-coming NBL stars Kyle Adnam and Harry Froling have earned a spot in an extended Aussie Boomers squad set to compete in the upcoming FIBA World Cup qualifiers in December.

It's the first time either prospect has been named to a senior national team squad, with both players having impressed Boomers head coach Andrej Lemanis in the opening rounds of the NBL season.

"It has been great to see the impact of some of the younger guys in the early rounds of the NBL," Lemanis said.

"It's nice to be able to recognise that with their inclusion into the extended team of 24."

Joining Adnam and Froling in the 24-man squad are 12 players that represented Australia in the previous FIBA World Cup qualifying window that took place in September -- including Chris Goulding, Nathan Sobey, Mitch McCarron and Daniel Johnson.

Each NBL club will be represented in the preliminary squad, with the Perth Wildcats having the most representatives with seven.

23 of the 24 named members of the extended squad are active on NBL rosters, with the lone exception being Mitch Creek, who is currently with the Long Island Nets of the NBA G League.

While the Boomers are expected to officially lock up a spot for the 2019 FIBA World Cup with games against Qatar and Iran, Lemanis is remaining cautious as they head into the two games in Melbourne.

“This will be another important window for us,” Lemanis said.

“I know we’re all looking forward to the match-up with Iran. We had a great contest against them in the Asia Cup final. They present some unique challenges and that has been kept in mind as we selected this group of 24."

Lemanis and his staff will have to cut the 24-man team down to just 12, with an announcement on the final team expected to come in mid November.

The Boomers will take on Iran on November 30 before facing Qatar on December 3. Both games are set to be played at Margaret Court Arena in Melbourne.

Australian Boomers Squad

Kyle Adnam (Sydney Kings) Cameron Bairstow (Brisbane Bullets) David Barlow (Melbourne United) Todd Blanchfield (Illawarra Hawks) Angus Brandt (Perth Wildcats) Jason Cadee (Brisbane Bullets) Mitchell Creek (Long Island Nets - NBA G League) Anthony Drmic (Adelaide 36ers) Harry Froling (Adelaide 36ers) Cameron Gliddon (Brisbane Bullets) Chris Goulding (Melbourne United) Matthew Hodgson (Brisbane Bullets) Nathan Jawai (Cairns Taipans) Tom Jervis (Perth Wildcats) Daniel Johnson (Adelaide 36ers) Nicholas Kay (Perth Wildcats) Mitchell McCarron (Melbourne United) Damian Martin (Perth Wildcats) Craig Moller (Melbourne United) Brad Newley (Sydney Kings) Mitchell Norton (Perth Wildcats) Nathan Sobey (Adelaide 36ers) Clint Steindl (Perth Wildcats) Jesse Wagstaff (Perth Wildcats)