Australian Under 16 national teams named for FIBA Asia Championship

Basketball Australia has announced the Under 16 national junior teams to contest the FIBA Under-16 Asia Championships after the conclusion of a 3-day selection camp held at the Centre of Excellence in Canberra.

Tracy York of the Bendigo Spirit and Justin Schueller of Melbourne United have been appointed the respective girls and boys head coaching roles, bringing with them WNBL and NBL coaching experience.

While the location for the FIBA Under-16 Asia Championships has not yet been determined, the top four in each competition will earn tickets to the 2020 FIBA Under-17 World Championships, with Romania hosting the girls and Bulgaria the boys.

The Australian boys and girls both enter the Asia Championships a Oceania champions. The girls return the core of the gold medal winning team from the 2018 FIBA Oceania Championships, while the boys will look to build on their thrilling gold medal win against New Zealand in Papua New Guinea.

Millie Prior, Paige Price and Shaniece Swain headline the girls roster, with all three currently attending the Basketball Australia Centre of Excellence (BA CoE) having been added in July this year.

Dyson Daniels and Keanu Rasmussen at both currently in attendance at the BA CoE for the boys, with Daniels currently part of the NBA Global Academy.


Dyson DANIELS | Victoria

Bowyn BEATTY | Australian Capital Territory

Michael WALKER | New South Wales

Fiston IPASSOU | South Australia

Ky STATTMANN | Queensland

Sejr DEANS | Tasmania

Tyrese PROCTOR | New South Wales

Keanu RASMUSSEN | South Australia

Joshua DEACH | Victoria

Jeffrey OEFODU | Victoria

Harrison PENNISI | Queensland

Jack MCWILLIAMS | New South Wales

Justin SCHUELLER| Head Coach

Nathan COOPER-BROWN | Assistant Coach

Greg VANDERJAGT| Assistant Coach

Anthony FOY | Team Manager

Toby CONROY | Physiotherapist

Anthony HIPSLEY | Doctor


Kate DEEBLE | Queensland

Charlise DUNN | Victoria

Chyra EEVANS | New South Wales

Dallas LOUGHRUIDGE | Victoria

Luisa FAKALATA | Victoria

Piper DENLOP | Victoria

Paige PRICE | Victoria

Millie PRIOR | New South Wales

Jessica SIMONS | South Australia

Shaneice SWAIN | Queensland

Nyadiew POUCH | Victoria

Alanna GOODCHILD | New South Wales

Tracy YORK | Head Coach

Kaye-Lee SRUART | Assistant Coach

Zoe CARR | Assistant Coach

Michele MENSO | (interim) Team Manager

Aneeka SMITH | Physiotherapist

Viran DE SILVA | Doctor