Aussies in WNBA: Jackson and Taylor shortlisted for WNBA all-time top 20 players

Two of Australia's greatest female basketballers in Lauren Jackson and Penny Taylor have been nominated for the WNBA's best 20 players of all-time. The honour is a celebration of the 20th season of the WNBA, with the final 20 will be announced on ESPN's Sport Center on June 21, 10am (US time).

Jackson and Taylor were included in the 60 official nominees alongside some of the world's biggest names, including Tina Thompson, Diana Taurasi, Maya Moore and Lisa Leslie.

Jackson announced her retirement earlier this year, and left behind an irreplaceable legacy in Australia and the WNBA. She enjoyed a decorated WNBA career after she was drafted to the Seattle Storm as the number 1 selection in the 2001 draft. From there, she was awarded the MVP in the 2003, 2007 and 2010 WNBA season, joining Lisa Leslie as the only two players to ever win the award three times. Jackson led the Storm to 2 WNBA Championships in 2004 and 2010.

Australia's current WNBA standout, Penny Taylor was initially drafted to the Cleveland Rockers in 2001 at pick 11 and enjoyed her first few seasons with them until heading to her current home, the Phoenix Mercury in 2004.

With the Mercury, Taylor became a three-time WNBA Champion from the 2007, 2009 and 2014 seasons. Taylor is also a three-time WNBA All-Star, and was part of the All-WNBA First Team in 2007.

Taylor has been a consistent soldier for the Mercury, and continues to dominate for them as they battle out the 2016 season.