Aussies in Europe: 2013/14 Men

Damian Arsenis and Steve Tibb provide a comprehensive listing of all the Australian men playing at the highest level during the 2013/14 European basketball season, complete with links to each player's official profile, team and leagues!

We have also compiled a Twitter list of male Aussie Europe (or Asia) basketball players for those of you who are on Twitter (accurate as at 29 Dec 2013.)

If you are interested in Australians playing in Europe (or Asia), this is one web page that you should bookmark!

The player listing below was last updated on 7 January 2014.

2013/14 Aussies in Europe / Asia: Australian Men Name State H (cm) Pos. Country Team National League David BARLOW VIC 205 F Poland Zielona Gora Basket Lega Ryan BROEKHOFF VIC 201 G/F Turkey Besiktas Basketbol Ligleri Rhys CARTER VIC 190 G Sweden Eco Orebro Basketligan Daniel DILLON VIC 194 G Romania Oradea Lega Nationale Josh DUINKER NSW 210 F/C Netherlands Leiden Eredivisie Joe INGLES SA 203 G/F Israel Maccabi Tel-Aviv Winner League Nathan JAWAI QLD 208 F/C Turkey Galatasaray Basketbol Ligleri Anatoly KOLESNIKOV* NSW 200 G/F Kazakhstan BC Astana Division 1 Julian KHAZZOUH NSW 209 C Lebanon Sagesse Division A Daniel KICKERT VIC 208 F/C Ukraine Azovmash Superleague Aleks MARIC NSW 211 C Russia Lokomotiv Kuban VTB United League Brock MOTUM QLD 207 F Italy Virtus Bologna Serie A Brad NEWLEY SA 199 G/F Spain Gran Canaria Spanish ACB Liam RUSH WA 202 F Sweden Uppsala Basketligan * Anatoly Kolesnikov has played under the name ‘Anatoly Bose’ in both the USA and in Australia

It is worth noting that the Lebanese Division 1 national league is not currently operating as a result of FIBA suspending Lebanon’s membership for 4 years.

In addition to their national leagues, a number of the teams featuring Australians also play in various other regional leagues across Europe and Asia as follows:


  • Lokomotiv Kuban (Aleks Maric)

  • Maccabi Tel-Aviv (Joe Ingles)

  • Zielona Gora (David Barlow)


  • Besiktas (Ryan Broekhoff)


  • Leiden (Josh Duinker)

  • Oradea (Daniel Dillon)

VTB United League

  • BC Astana (Anatoly Kolesnikov)

  • Lokomotiv Kuban (Aleks Maric)

If we have inadvertently left someone out, please let the authors know by sending a message or via Twitter at @DamianArsenis or @tibba_02